Gowanus Brewery


Propagating Hops by Jeremy
October 13, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: hops

In the same spirit that united me with my Cascade rhizome cutting through the Yahoo! Grow Hops Group, I am attempting to propagate the hop plants in my garden to redistribute to the Yahoo! group and other friends.

The plan is simple. As you can see in the picture, I just took three long planter boxes, filled them with a mix of top soil and compost, and buried two bines in each box. They’ll sit outside all winter under a layer of mulch and next season, when it’s time to cut them up, I’ll unearth them and see what I’ve got.

If you click through on the picture, you’ll get a better view of the actual cuttings. I believe that each point generating leaves will transform into a point generating roots, so that, for every section with sprouting leaves, I’ll have a potential root cutting next year. I guess that I have about 10 cuttings total for each box here, if not more.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Growing your own hops? That is badass.

Comment by Ben

Any new beers coming down the pipe?

Comment by Andew

Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular
article! It’s the little changes that produce the most significant changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

Comment by Plumbing and heating nj




Leave a Reply

