Gowanus Brewery


Gowanus Double India Pale Ale – Intro and Update by Jeremy
October 10, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, double ipa, naming

I had some fun with this one.

This recipe is different from my first DIPA, which I didn’t realize until I went to unpack this kit, but all that doubt went away a couple weeks ago went I thiefed my first sample. This one is going to be outstanding:

  • 16 lbs. British Pale Malt
  • 0.75 lbs. Dingemans Caramel Pils
  • 0.25 lbs. Briess Caramel 120
  • 1 oz. Summit (60 min)
  • 1 oz. Centennial (30 min)
  • 1 oz. Cascade (10 min)
  • 2 oz. Glacier (0 min)
  • 1 oz. Cascade Hops (dry hop)

    I tweaked this one just like the Gowanus American Harvest Amber Ale.  But, instead of 1 ounce of oak, I used 2; and instead of boiling the garden hops, I threw them in during secondary (pictured). I should add that I actually dumped this beer from primary right onto the amber ale’s secondary bucket to get that first ounce of oak.  The GDIPA sat there for only about a week, before I siphoned it too off to a third bucket.

    This beer is going to taste great despite a couple of factors working against it.  First, I spilled about a pound of grain when I went to mash in.  Whoops.  Second, primary fermentation was active at the less-than-ideal temperature range of 80 to 84 degrees, but the ambient temperature here quickly dropped to the mid-sixties.  Perhaps partly due to those factors, my original gravity was only about 1.075, rather than the target 1.085.  But, as I said, it already tastes phenomenal!

    The specific gravity is at about 1.020 now and I’m just waiting for some free time to bottle it up.  It is going to be one of a three-pack of beers I send out for the holiday season: Strong Wheat, DIPA, & Amber Ale.

    Leave a Comment so far
    Leave a comment



    Leave a Reply

