Gowanus Brewery


Hop Garden and Strong Wheat Update by Jeremy
July 23, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, hops, strong ale

I have been quite busy setting up a new business, so this little hobby of mine has been riding the pine.  There is news to report, though.

All three of my hop plants–the Willamette, Centennial, and Cascade–are growing well, if not quickly.  If you zoom in on the picture posted here, you might be able to see a single, solitary bine inching up the back fence and a few feet of bines creeping up the hop trellis in the middle on the left.  They are quickly proving to be hardy and happy.  In the last week or so, they started growing at a pace of about an inch a day.  Plus, the Willamette and Centennial are starting to send out side shoots, a sign of good health I believe, though I do have to clip those to force the plant to focus on growing upwards.

The Strong Wheat is also progressing nicely.  I’ve had about six 12-ounce bottles by now and each one is better than the last.  Unfortuneatly, the carbonation is on the high side and actually may prevent me from aging the beer as long as I’d like to, if it continues to build.  The last thing I want to be dealing with is a shelf full of syrupy-beer bombs.  There will be more on this brew in the future when I find time to do a proper writeup.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] The Willamette is only about five feet high now, but it has a lot of, ahem, girth. The Cascade, on the back fence, is going the best, though I have it set up on a T-shaped trellis, so I can’t say how tall it […]

Pingback by Hop Garden Update « Gowanus Brewery




Leave a Reply

