Gowanus Brewery


Gowanus Strength German Wheat – Kegged by Jeremy
June 19, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, kegerator, review, wheat

Last weekend I dumped the Gowanus Strength German Wheat into a keg and hooked it up to the keggerator.  Result:  tasty beverage.

The beer, which had a final gravity of 1.006, is fairly light and has the distinct banana and clove characteristics of a German wheat beer.  It is cloudy and gold in the glass and retains a tall creamy head.  Overall it’s very good and refreshing, but I’m sad to say that I’m having trouble picking out any flavor or aroma contributions from the honey or hops.  Maybe a side-by-side with commercial German wheat beer without honey is in order.

If in the future I decide to make another batch of strong wheat ale and have the opportunity to make batch of beer like this again, I think I would experiment with a different yeast and other adjuncts.  This is a good beer, don’t get me wrong, but I just don’t think the German wheat style does it for me.

Fortunately, we have a couple folks coming over for the Mermaid Parade this weekend, so I will have plenty of help finishing off this brew.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

