Gowanus Brewery


DIY Stir Plate by Jeremy
May 20, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: equipment, yeast

I mocked up a homemade stir plate last night to prepare the Gowanus Strong Wheat yeast starter.

There are already several how-to’s online with in-depth build documentation, so I’ll just give you the short version here. There are four primary components that go into this project:

Enclosure: This I picked up from Radio Shack.
Computer Case Fan: I have several of these on hand.
Rare Earth Magnet: Harddisks contain two powerful, semi-circle magnets each.
12 volt AC-DC Power Supply: I used an old 12-volt, 500 mA router wall wort.

Plus, of course, various other hardware, including power connector, potentiometer, switch, wiring, etc.

The very last thing to get squared away is the stir bar. At the moment, I’m using a short piece of paper clip, but I’m trying to get my hands on some reasonably-priced magnetic stir bars. As obvious as it may be, this is a worthwhile upgrade. Unfortunately, I probably won’t get one until after the Gowanus Strong Wheat is finished.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wonderful article. will come back=D

Comment by DakEruttDrita

It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and
adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to
fresh updates and will share this site with my Facebook group.
Chat soon!

Comment by customer relationship management tool




Leave a Reply

