Gowanus Brewery


Hops and Hop Trellis by Jeremy
April 20, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: equipment, hops

Saturday, my girlfriend and I laid the groundwork for our summer garden, which included putting Centennial and Willamette hop rhizomes in the ground and putting up the hop trellis. I ordered the rhizomes from Northern Brewer last month and received them directly from their vendor in Oregon earlier this week.

The trellis turned out great and is as basic as can be. It consists of scrap 4×4, leftover closet rod, two six-inch plant hangers, a one-inch flange, an eye-hook, a small rope cleat, and forty pounds of cement. Total cost: $20.

It’s not totally done yet, though. I still have to run the twine that will support the hop bines. The twine will be secured near the hop rhizomes, loop over the top hooks, and will be tied off at the rope cleat. With this design, I’ll be able to let the bines down at the end of the summer with minimal hassle.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well to a great craft. I’ve been homebrewing for well over 10 years, but last year was my first year to plant hops; I just expanded into a second row and have a total of 20 plants now. Since you’re new, I hope you won’t mind me inviting you to join my Grow-Hops group which now has 1,941 members, and we have a rhizome exchange plus a whole-hop exchange for trading excess hops you grow for a different variety, etc. Our group is http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Grow-Hops but we are also in the process of working on our own private domain website — http://www.grow-hops.com — which will have a HopsWiki, forums, etc.

Cheers.

Bill Velek

Comment by Bill Velek

Hi Bill!

I’ve actually been a member of Grow-hops for a month or two as gowanusbrewer. I’m on the hop exchange and slated to receive a Cascade rhizome, which I plan to let grow wild on a back fence.

The group is great and I’m looking forward to seeing the Wiki go live soon.

Jeremy

Comment by Jeremy

Hi Jeremy. Nice job on the blog and way to go for starting your own hops this year. I planted four hops plants last year and just added three more last week. The yearlings are already going strong again, so I need to prune and string them up this week. I would be happy to give you a few pointers that really worked for me via email if you’d like.

Comment by Friar Smith

I do have a couple questions that have been rattling around since I put up the trellis. How long does it take for the first bines to break ground from a first-hear rhizome? Also, the bines will only be about 14″ apart at the top of the trellis. Is that too close for first-year bines? Will they become hopelessly intertwined?

If you’d like to respond by email, send to my gmail account, gowansubrewer.

Comment by Jeremy

Jeremy,
Can you give us some guidance of how to build a trellis like yours – a diagram, maybe? Seems like a clever design.

Comment by Battenberg

I just finished drawing the trellis up in Google SketchUp and posted the images here: https://gowanusbrewery.wordpress.com/2008/05/03/hop-trellis-drawings/

Comment by Jeremy

[…] May 3, 2008, 12:00 am Filed under: equipment These are very basic drawings of the hop trellis I built a few weekends ago. It’s designed to support two hop plants, one on either side. They will grow directly up […]

Pingback by Hop Trellis Drawings « Gowanus Brewery

[…] my hop trellis design: Your first-year hops will not bush-out much at the top, so being 14″ apart at the top […]

Pingback by Notes on Growing Hops « Gowanus Brewery

[…] under: hops I’ve tried to maintain hope that the Willamette and Centennial hops rhizomes I planted in April would eventually take hold and break ground, but it’s time to accept a loss on this one: […]

Pingback by Hop Garden Update « Gowanus Brewery

Since the admin of this website is working, no hesitation
very soon it will be famous, due to its feature
contents.

Comment by http://www.freedomfoaminsulators.com/component/user/reset

magnificent issues altogether, you simply received a
new reader. What may you suggest in regards to your put up that you just made some days ago?
Any sure?

Comment by flyers




Leave a Reply

