Gowanus Brewery


Gowanus Wheat Beer Goes Over by Jeremy
April 6, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, recipe, review

I served up the Gowanus Wheat beer at my buddy’s studio opening party last night and, aside from a little confusion over the name, it went over well.

Q: Cow anus?

A: No. Gowanus.

The only real difference between this brew and the Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale is the mash temperature and duration. For the raspberry wheat, I lowered the temp and lengthened the mash to make a lighter, drier beer. But I don’t think those are necessarily positive characteristics for a standard wheat beer. There’s certainly a place for that sort of thing, but I think lagers are always going to be my preferred thirst-quenching summer beer. Next time around, my wheat beer will be full-bodied, as it should.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

very very good stuff

Comment by Drew




Leave a Reply

