Gowanus Brewery


Raspberries Added! by Jeremy
April 5, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, raspberry wheat

Just sent the Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale to secondary, added the raspberries, and it looks outstanding.

I’m using Cascadian Farm organic red raspberries, which don’t have any additives whatsoever. I added four 10-ounce bags, or approximately 2.5 pounds. Most fruit beer recipes recommend five pounds of fruit, but I’m going for something a little more subtle. The beer itself is already really light and I don’t want the raspberries to be too overpowering.

Unfortunately, these aren’t the berries I ultimately want to use in this recipe. There are yellow berries out there that taste slightly different and are intensely yellow. Those are two unique twists that I think will make a great hook for this beer at competition. That only catch is that these berries aren’t really available at supermarkets yet, so I have to grow my own. I already put an order in for a four or five plants and I should get the first harvest in July.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] the same time, so in total I might have enough yellow raspberries to do the yellow raspberry beer I wrote about at the beginning of the year. The fifth plant, the one closest to the swimming pool, has not grown much since it went in the […]

Pingback by Raspberry Bushes Doing Fine « Gowanus Brewery




Leave a Reply

