Gowanus Brewery


First Yeast Starter Pitched by Jeremy
April 2, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: yeast

My yeast starter looks great. Good volume. Great color. And, hopefully, tons of healthy yeast.

I grew this yeast up from a 6-ounce starter last week in about a quart of a simple wort. That lag between making the starter and pitching it will be something I look at if I don’t reach a better final gravity, but as of yesterday fermentation appears active and healthy. The only potential issue I see so far with this experiment is that I foolishly pitched my entire supply of this strain of yeast. In the future, I will keep at least one sample set aside in case my batch of beer goes south.

Actually, I’m not too worried about that. Barry and I were talking about it last night: out of the 10 or 15 batches we’ve done since the end of last summer, we haven’t lost a single batch of beer to contamination.

Are we lucky or just plain good?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Reading the information releted Yeast Infection. I appreciated this article. You’ve some real good quality information that appears to become researched hare. These kind of post are always inspiring and I prefer to read quality content so I happy to find many good point here in the post, thank you for the post.

Comment by Anonymous




Leave a Reply

