Gowanus Brewery


Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale – Started by Jeremy
April 1, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: all-grain, beer, brewing, raspberry wheat

Happy to say that the Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale is all brewed up and represents my first truly problem-free all-grain batch of beer.

I hoped to achieve a lighter, drier beer with this recipe, so I utilized a cooler and longer sugar rest. In the end, although I was thinking I could hold it right at 145 degrees for the 90 minutes, the temperature of the wort fluctuated between 140 and 150 degrees as it cooled and was reheated. That range is optimal for the enzyme I was trying to promote, so still all went well. Unfortunately for me, I forgot to measure the starting gravity before I pitched the yeast, but I will estimate approximately 38 based on the last batch.

Next weekend, after I move the beer to secondary, I’ll add whole frozen raspberries to add flavoring and some color. They’ll sit for two weeks and the beer should turn out delicious. Later in the summer I’m going to have some homegrown berries to work with, so for the time being I’m just using some organic red raspberries from the Brooklyn Co-op.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] April 5, 2008, 12:00 am Filed under: beer, organic, raspberry wheat Just sent the Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale to secondary, added the raspberries, and it looks […]

Pingback by Raspberries Added! « Gowanus Brewery

[…] 12:00 am Filed under: all-grain, raspberry wheat I took a quick sample while transferring the Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale to secondary and, incomprehensibly, it’s perfect. Light and dry with a perfect gold […]

Pingback by The Raspberry Wheat is On Point « Gowanus Brewery

[…] Out Well April 7, 2008, 12:00 am Filed under: raspberry wheat, yeast Fermentation for the Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale was healthy and more complete than the last […]

Pingback by Yeast Starter Worked Out Well « Gowanus Brewery

[…] April 8, 2008, 12:00 am Filed under: all-grain, beer, raspberry wheat, yeast The Raspberry Wheat Beer has been […]

Pingback by Raspberry Wheat Progress « Gowanus Brewery

[…] as planned, it’s light, tart, and dry. The wheat and raspberries are both present in the aroma and […]

Pingback by Gowanus Raspberry Wheat Ale - Reviewed « Gowanus Brewery




Leave a Reply

