Gowanus Brewery


A Happy New Year by Jeremy
January 1, 2008, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, competition, roadmap

We threw a NYE party last night that turned out to be a huge success. Everybody had a great time and I was finally able give away the last of my holiday gifts. To several people at the party, I gave homebrew six packs with three bottles of Olde Nash and three of the Chinook Me. Everybody was impressed and some were doubly impressed, because this was their first look at all the work I’ve done over the last three months. Even as I think back now, I’ve done a lot since October and ’08 is shaping up to be just as busy.

My resolution for the new year is to enter and place at a beer competition. I’ve never even been to one and have no doubt that I’m being overly ambitious, but you have to aim high. I got some new equipment for the holidays and even got a book of recipes from a friend, all of which will help me move this hobby of mine forward. I’m excited about the prospect of crafting my own recipes and moving away, in general, from the simplified process I’ve been using to learn the fundamentals, which I’ll have to do to get serious about competition. In January, I’ll do my first all-wheat batch and my first beer outside the IPA family. By February, I hope to have a couple of recipes outlined that I can begin perfecting in preparation for competition. And, by mid-year, I should be set to test the waters with an initial offering at, probably, a smaller, local beer competition.

Anyway, here’s to the New Year!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] American Wheat Beer – Started February 25, 2008, 12:00 am Filed under: all-grain, beer, brewing, recipe I just finished brewing the American Wheat Beer that will be the model for my competition beer. […]

Pingback by American Wheat Beer - Started « Gowanus Brewery




Leave a Reply

