Gowanus Brewery


Guido, a Belgium with Character by Jeremy
December 21, 2007, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, review

This is a “Regenboog Ale brewed with honey and raisins.”  It’s a Belgium beer, 8% ABV, and  Served in a small tumbler.  I picked this up in the Manhattan Whole Foods beer store.

I’m nearly at the end of the beer and I still can’t pick up on the honey, but the raisin is there.  Unfortunately, I don’t particularly care for raisins and, truth be told, I picked this beer up for my (lovely) girlfriend. I’ll review it anyway.

Between the raisin and sourness, which I think is the diacetyl, I can’t say I love this Guido, but it does have an interesting, original flavor.  It is raisiny and slightly sweet, and finishes with sour apples.  By the way, it smells just like it tastes, sour and raisiny.

There is a pretty substantial, big-bubbled headstand, but it disappears pretty quickly, leaving patterns on the glass, foam in the corners, and some thin whispy stuff on top.

Interestingly, I think this beer has the color of raisins.  Not the dark store-bought stuff, but the homemade or specialty kind that still have some color.  It’s golden-brown and yellow and only slightly translucent.

Overall, I didn’t enjoy this beer out of personal preference, but I have to give it extra points for an awesome label.  It’s reminiscent of the Red Meat webcomic, which is also unusual.

Click through for Beer Advocate reviews on Guido.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] find all over town: a decent beer selection. There was everything from Pabst Blue Ribbon to Guido Belgium Ale. I have only one minor complaint and that is I couldn’t find a certain type of wheat beer I […]

Pingback by Whole Foods Market Beer Store « Gowanus Brewery




Leave a Reply

