Gowanus Brewery


Extra Pale Ale – Recipe by Jeremy
December 7, 2007, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, brewing, extra pale ale, recipe, yeast

Hey just a quick little pre-brew post on the Northern Brewer Extra Pale Ale recipe:

1 lb. Dingemans Caramel Pils

6 lbs. Gold Malt Syrup

1 oz. Chinook hops (60 min)

1 oz. Cascade (1 min)

Wyeast #1056

Here’s what it says on the box:

Pale ale was originally a British invention, a novelty after centuries of dark ales. Now, thanks to microbreweries such as Summit and Sierra Nevada, pale ale has become an all-American beer with a style all its own. Crisp, hoppy, and quenching, our Extra Pale Ale is highlighted with the sharp, citrus aroma of Cascade hops in the new tradition of West Coast ales.

Again, another kit with a Wyeast yeast plus number. Yeast has been a major unknown factor for me in this process. It plays such a central role and yet it is so hard for a homebrewer to quantify, measure, or whatever independent of the box blurb:

Wyeast #1056 American Ale Yeast. Used commercially for several classic American ales. This strain ferments dry, finishes soft, smooth and clean, and is very well balanced. Flocculation: low-medium. Apparent attenuation: 73-77%. Optimum temperature: 62-72.

How do I even begin to verify any of this? How can I develop my own take on a yeast? With barley and hops I can hold two side by side and give them a whiff. And commercial beer, I just run to the market to pick up a sixer and sit down to taste it. For yeast, I would have to brew two identical batches with different yeasts. Even then, I could only contrast the two, without gaining any fundamental insight into the yeast itself. What’s most frustrating is that the yeast seems to be central to so many brewing empires. Chimay, for example, has a “house” yeast that’s almost as guarded as the sacred waters drawn from within the breweries monastery walls.

Anyway, tomorrow, while I’m getting this new batch started, I’m also going to put the Chinook IPA to bottle. It’s going to be one of my holiday gift beers, alongside the California Imperial Pale Ale. Between that, football, and a little holiday gift shopping, my Sunday is shaping up real nice.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] off and this weekend I’m moving it to the glass carboy. It seems to be moving along fine and the recipe is so simple I don’t expect to run into any hiccups. Tonight or sometime I’m going to […]

Pingback by Extra Pale Ale - Naming and Style Review « Gowanus Brewery

I just purchased the kit from NorthernBrewer and it now comes with 3oz. of Cascade hops. 2oz for the boil and 1oz for dry hoping.

Comment by newbie




Leave a Reply

