Gowanus Brewery


California Imperial Pale Ale – Served and Reviewed by Jeremy
December 2, 2007, 12:00 am
Filed under: beer, double ipa, review

I sampled and doled out the first of the California Imperial Pale Ale this week. It turned out great. My friends, for the most part, loved it and that was music to my ears. Success!

The aroma is distinctly hoppy, smelling of citrus and flowers. The color, though it is hard to tell from my picture, is reddish copper and the beer is clear. It has good flavor and tastes similar to the Arrogant Bastard Ale, on which the recipe is based. I’m still learning how to pick out flavors and which flavors to look for, but the hops are present and strong. The barley is is also present, adding some sweetness. The finish is dry, and the bitterness lingers. It is well-carbonated and has a medium body. The head stand is butter-colored and persists with large bubbles. Overall, it is very drinkable, although I think that its flavor could be improved by altering the proportion of barley to hops to introduce more sweetness, or bread flavors. The bitterness fully overshadows those underlying flavors and I think this was an obstacle among my friends who didn’t love the beer.

I have to admit that I cheated in reviewing this review by reading the the Imperial IPA’s style guidelines ahead of time. It’s a crutch I’ll have to shed at some point. There are over 1000 reviews of Arrogant Bastard Ale at Beer Advocate and the few that I read seem in line with my notes except that I didn’t pick up on the grapefruitiness, which so many of the reviewers mentioned.

I think I will set a six-pack aside to revisit this beer in the future. The rest I plan to gift out. Beer for the holidays?  Yes.  Nothing says heartfelt like handmade.  Besides, who wouldn’t love to wake up to a handcrafted sixer under the tree Christmas morning? You know these two to the left, a couple friends from Greenpoint, would. They loved this stuff. Actually, my roommate Barry believes so strongly that beer is good for Christmas, that he’s handing out close 15 gallons of his brew to friends and family at the end of the month. And that sounds like some holiday cheer.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It always warms my heart to read of home brewer’s efforts and especially during the holiday season. As you said: “who wouldn’t love to wake up to a handcrafted sixer under the tree Christmas morning?”
Peace love blessings. My only prayer is Thank You’ The Beer Doctor.
beerdoctor.org beerdoctor.wordpress.com

Comment by The Beer Doctor

[…] December 11, 2007, 12:00 am Filed under: beer, shipping This year, as I mentioned in a previous post, I plan on giving the gift of beer. Of course, it’s not just beer. It’s some of my […]

Pingback by How to Ship and Package Beer « Gowanus Brewery

Immigration Lawyers… […]the time to read or visit the content or sites we have linked to below the[…]…

Comment by Tory Mouw




Leave a Reply

