Gowanus Brewery


California Imperial Pale Ale – Update by Jeremy
November 9, 2007, 5:00 pm
Filed under: beer, double ipa

I took a few moments this weekend to check in on the California Imperial Pale Ale, which I will be set to bottle next week. And all I can say is it is dark! I attempted to get a sense of the color by passing light through the carboy, but I could only see color very near the surface. I may have to wait until it’s bottled to really evaluate it. It’s like ink as it is, but there are definitely red and copper tones, as prescribed by the BJCP style guidelines.

This picture represents my first attempt at a light box, which turned out not too bad. I’ll improve on it in the future and hopefully raise the level of quality in my documentation here. The first step will be to make it bigger. I actually had to remove the airlock to get the carboy to fit.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

